Patricia M Osborne's The Coalminer's Son

P.M. Osborne opens up to Ridenour Publishing about her follow up novel. So excited to learn about the second novel in the trilogy and currently downloading to read!!

P.M. Osborne: I felt such a loss when finishing my debut novel, House of Grace, that I decided to continue the story and make it a trilogy, although each book may be read as a standalone.

The Coal Miner’s Son was born. Unlike House of Grace, The Coal Miner’s Son makes use of two narrators, one of which is nine-year-old George. The story travels through the sixties and the reader is able to follow George as he struggles with bereavement, rejection and a kidnapping that changes his life forever.

At the same time, a second narrator is used by interweaving chapters which allows Elizabeth (Grace’s younger sister) to reveal her story which illustrates her battle with past demons while learning to love George as her own.

Through reviews, direct messages, posts on Facebook I’ve discovered that readers are loving the Granvilles and Gilmores and want more. For instance, the following quote is taken from a five star review on Amazon for The Coal Miner’s Son.

“Had me gripped from beginning to end. The characters really come to life and I feel that I would recognise each and every one if I were to pass them in the street”

The Coal Miner’s Son was published on 9th March 2020. Book 3, ‘The Granville Legacy’ is due to be released in Spring 2021. The story opens in December 1980 with George, now an adult, as one of the narrators, with Grace returning as the second. Readers will be introduced to new characters along with the ones they have already got to know and love. Although this is the final part in the trilogy, it will not be the end of the ‘House of Grace’ series as there are still plenty more stories to come.

Blurb - The Coal Miner’s Son

After tragedy hits the small coal mining village of Wintermore, nine-year-old miner’s son, George, is sent to Granville Hall to live with his titled grandparents.

Caught up in a web of treachery and deceit, George grows up believing his mother sold him. He’s determined to make her pay, but at what cost? Is he strong enough to rebel?

Will George ever learn to forgive?

Step back into the 60s and follow George as he struggles with bereavement, rejection and a kidnapping that changes his life forever. Resistance is George’s only hope.

The Coal Miner’s Son is the second book in the House of Grace trilogy.


House of Grace and The Coal Miner’s Son are both available in paperback and Kindle format. They are also free to download with Kindle Unlimited.

Readers can purchase the paperback via Amazon or order from bookstores and libraries. Discounted signed paperbacks available direct (UK only). Contact via website for details of price plus p&p. or email

Social Media Links




Author Bio

Patricia M Osborne is married with grown-up children and grandchildren. She was born in Liverpool but now lives in West Sussex. In 2019 she graduated with an MA in Creative Writing (University of Brighton).

Patricia writes novels, poetry and short fiction, and has been published in various literary magazines and anthologies. She has two published novels, House of Grace and The Coal Miner’s Son. Her first poetry pamphlet ‘Taxus Baccata’ is to be published by Hedgehog Poetry Press in Summer 2020.

She has a successful blog at where she features other writers and poets. When Patricia isn’t working on her own writing, she enjoys sharing her knowledge, acting as a mentor to fellow writers and as an online poetry tutor with Writers’ Bureau.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All